Ask me. But. Not Now.

Posted: February 1, 2011 in LOVE AFFAIR
Tags: , ,

I am always surrounded with people older than me… Let’s say, more on “settling” age, so they have, they are; they will settle. SOON.  And right after it happened, right after they’ve created clips of plan rolling in their head, they would ask me the deadly question, “So when are you gonna get married?”

Boom! In the past 6 months, I was asked maybe around 18 times and last night would count as 19th or 20th. Answer: I do not know. I don’t really know ok? I wish I could just tell straight to that person asking that “Hey, do you know that this is the kind of question I would not want to face at the moment? So just please. Please mind your own business.”

Not because everyone’s tying the knot means that I should too. I have seen marriages that looked like it was the right thing to do at the moment, that just because one’s getting too old to wait around; or the woman’s pregnant.

I do not want to be an instant married woman for the same reason.  There were instances that I doubt. There are things that I am not yet sure of. There are issues that need to be resolved. There are plans that are yet to be made.  And most of all,  I think I still have a long way to go.

When I was young, I thought 2010 would be a big year for me. But just like a child who used to believe in fairytale, I have reached the point of understanding that life isn’t a love story played on film; that the happy ending should come before the 2-hour roll had lapsed.  I used to believe that I would see myself on that scene… till they started showing more realistic endings like that of Blue Valentine… LOL. Or should I say till I started considering that I could graciously carry the status SINGLE if I opt to.

So I hope that last night’s the last… for now.  I know I cannot stop people from asking… but maybe if they just could… Maybe someday.  Maybe not at all.

Because right now, I have a lot going on.. and there are some rediscovering that need to be done.

So in the mean time, let me give you a fixated goofy smile and by that I hope you get that I am not in the mood to answer your not-so-likely question… there is a RIGHT TIME for everything; especially things that are as LIFE-DEFINING as this.

Leave a comment